top of page

Clay: Adolescents with OCD


Media: Clay

Population: Adolescent

Disorder: Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder

Reflection:

During this weeks’ media exploration, I created a porcelain salt pig and a teeny tiny spoon. I would like to use this medium with adolescents experiencing symptoms of obsessive-compulsive disorder. Working with clay can be a grounding and help clients be mindful, which is why I believe it could be effective with this population.

Leone (2020) stated that working with clay can raising body awareness, create a mindful state for the artist, and enhance positive effective experiences (p. 56). During this experience, I found myself in a calm state, as I worked with the clay with my eyes closed. As I became more aware of the clay, I became less aware of what was happening around me. This was not a surprise to me. Hinz (2009) wrote that working in the sensory component can result in a person becoming more aware of internal sensations, which includes the quieting of external stimulation (p. 62)

I did not find that I needed to change my approach during the process. I have worked with clay before and engaged in a lot of hand building. Therefore, this was a comfortable place for me to be. My feelings about the use of clay remained the same throughout this experience and was consistent with my expectations. I thought I would have a relaxing experience and I did.

I think that the way I went about this process with myself could adapt well to the population I chose. I would provide the adolescents with a small ball of clay, something manageable and nonthreatening. I would work with my clients through a mindfulness exercise with the clay. This process would have clients exploring the properties of the clay in a way that is intentional, not rushed, and expressive.

Through this process, I learned that the type of clay that a maker is engaging with can have an impact on their experience. I usually work with stoneware or loafer’s glory, but for this process, I utilized porcelain. Through the process of working with this clay, I realized that I prefer working with clay that has some sort of texture to it. I am now curious about the impact that the type of clay can have on the therapeutic process.


References

Leone, L. (Ed.). (2020). Craft in Art Therapy: Diverse Approaches to the Transformative

Power of Craft Materials and Methods. Routledge.

Hinz, L. D. (2009). Expressive therapies continuum: A framework for using art in therapy.

Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group.

bottom of page