top of page

Crochet with adults with anxiety disorders

Media: Knitting or crochet

Population: Adults with anxiety disorders



I’m fairly familiar with crocheting and wanted to make something small and not too time-consuming. I made a little frog and ended up sewing it some clothes as well. I like the thought of a similar process being used with adults who have anxiety disorders. The process of crocheting is calming for me, and research has proven that such techniques can have positive effects on mental health and well-being (Riley et al., 2013).


I chose to make a small object to assuage my own frustration tolerance in the moment. While I do enjoy making functional objects such as hats and scarves, I wanted to make something quickly. While the process itself tends to promote feeling calm (Craft Yarn Council, 2014; Riley et al., 2013), sometimes more extensive projects can be anxiety-provoking, especially for those with low frustration tolerance and/or impulse control. The frog did not take me too long to make and I did not necessarily set out to make a frog. I wanted to make the green body and told myself that it could be an animal, alien, monster, etc, which set me up for success in case something did not go as planned since I was not following a pattern. The process was soothing and having something made in little time felt rewarding, so I imagine that other adults with anxiety could benefit from a similar process as well. A sense of accomplishment can be important to this population, especially if their anxiety often prevents them from completing tasks. This little creature can serve as a positive affirmation or reminder, or become a gift for someone special. I thought about turning my little frog into a pin, magnet, or keychain so that I could see it often.

References

Craft Yarn Council. (2014). Knitting & crocheting are hot! Retrieved October 29, 2020, from https://www.craftyarncouncil.com/know.html


Riley, J., Corkhill, B., Morris, C. (2013). The benefits of knitting for personal and social wellbeing in adulthood: Findings from an international survey. British Journal of Occupational Therapy, 76(2), 50-57. doi:10.4276/030802213x13603244419077

bottom of page