top of page

Found Object Art for Adults with Schizophrenia Spectrum and other Psychotic Disorders

Media Process: Found Object

Population: Adults

Disorder: Schizophrenia Spectrum and other Psychotic Disorders


A theme that I have noticed in several of these art processes is the experience of reutilizing and repurposing materials, and it is something that I really appreciate. I am personally the kind of person who struggles to get rid of any material that has potential to be transformed. This has encouraged my own artistic exploration, but also lends to the accumulation of stuff. So when given the prompt to create found object art I was very excited about it. I grabbed a handful of materials out of one of the several containers I keep random objects, and decided to use these to navigate my found object creation. I ended up with some buttons, old sandpaper, some sticks, and flower petals. I used the sandpaper to create a container, and thought of it as kind of a shadow box for the rest of the materials. The process was very perceptually-based for me, as I mostly focused on how the objects interacted together and how they could exist within this new container. In reflecting back on it, I kind of regret not working bigger, and think that I might have gotten more out of the experience if I chose my objects with more intention. However, I really appreciate the containment of my piece and how it fits neatly in my hand. It is something that can be easily transported and can be carried with me, so it has a sense of intimacy and companionship.

I was reminded of the article by Brooker (2010), which identified the process of creating found object art as a way to bridge psychological barriers to engagement with the outer world of the client. I immediately thought back to my practicum experience at an inpatient facility. I would often work with individuals experience psychosis, and how utilizing media that was containing and grounding was generally beneficial. I remember in my small group discussion, we spoke about the potential to go out on nature walks, and how that could be used as a way to obtain found object materials. It also could act as a way to encourage connection to the environment and external realities, as well as facilitate connection to others.




Brooker, J. (2010). Found objects in art therapy. International Journal of Art Therapy, 15(1), 25-35. https://doi.org/10.1080/17454831003752386

bottom of page