top of page

Found Object Art Process with Older Adults with Neurocognitive Disorders (Dementia)

For the Found Object process, I revisited an experiential led by Michele Rattigan during our Summer Foundations course. In this experiential Michele instructed us to find an object or objects to contemplate as she led us in a guided exploration of the ETC. I recreated this

process myself as best I could. I chose a small stone from a personal collection as my found object. As I went through the Expressive Therapies Continuum, I mediated on so many aspects of this stone that it became quite expansive and an overwhelmingly beautiful object to consider. This stone is small, but almost perfectly round. It was given to me by a friend who took a hiking trip in the canyons of Arizona. I love this stone primarily for its size and its shape, as well as the personal connection. This stone was a gift, and a thoughtful one. But as I contemplated my stone, rolling it around in my palms, feeling with my fingers small imperfections in its otherwise perfect sphere, my love for it grew to encompass much more. I imagined the “life” of my stone and realized at once that it is quite ancient. Most likely it started off as a much larger rock, or part of a boulder or mountain or another formation. Over time the elements have touched it. It has been held by wind, water and sun, eroded over time into the shape that I now hold. I imagined its long lasting existence in a single place only to be picked up by my friend and carried across a great distance to sit on my bookshelf. This stone, which came into being so long ago, has been removed from the environment after a millennia of subtle movement. Moved, touched, held, and transformed beyond its own control. I thought of the stone as withstanding beyond time and memory and felt a longing inside of myself, a tug in the center of my chest. I think this longing represents a desire to be connected to something that feels powerful and old, a desire for a connection with the earth and the elements that have shaped this stone in continuance. Because the stone is spherical in shape I began to think of it as a portal--to other times and places as well as to other ways of thinking. From here I painted a small reflection piece based on my thoughts and experiences in this meditative process.

I have done something similar at my internship. I work with geriatric adults at a long term care facility. Most of the residents at this site are experiencing mild to severe dementias as well as neurocognitive decline due to aging. I am currently working with one resident who is reluctant to engage with any art materials, but still greatly benefits from individual therapeutic attention. This resident has mild to moderate dementia which causes insecurity and general feelings of incompetence which is keeping her from making art, as she is worried about failing or becoming confused. This process was accessible and engaging and provided a wonderful starting point for future sessions. We spent some time with a doll that she has in her collection. We talked about how the doll felt, how it looked, what or who the doll reminded her of, as well as the emotions that were behind those reminiscences. The doll reminded her of her daughter as a child which prompted a rich discussion surrounding memory and time. I would like to use this technique with other older adults in order to promote memory stimulation and a connection to the past combined with present moment awareness and emotional reflection. According to Brooker, in her experience using found objects with clients, “found objects enabled thoughts, feelings and memories to be connected to, recognised and processed in a way which would not have been reached by simply providing standard traditional art therapy studio materials.” (2010, p. 34) This process also involves sensory and kinesthetic aspects, which is how older adults with dementias increasingly communicate as their decline progresses. I also think this process reflects an important aspect of identity formation. So much of our identities are reflected in our choice of beloved objects. As cognition declines, other aspects of identity may fall away, but at times may be retrieved through the presentation of a familiar object. For some older adults this process can be expanded to include art reflections, or the construction of small shrines or containers to house these treasured objects.

References

Brooker, J. (2010). Found objects in art therapy. International Journal of Art Therapy, 15(1), 25-35.



bottom of page