top of page

Found Objects! Trash Art!

Found objects were my bread and butter during the first quarantine in this pandemic. Due to the lack of materials that I had acquired but still trying to meet the demand of my classes, I had to make adjustments. I had started to collect objects that were so often overlooked, but seeing that I could not be choosey, I tried my best to reframe the items from a new perspective and give it more meaning and value than it originally had. I continued to experiment with this process and ended up creating something similar to when I had first used found objects. When I use found objects, I don’t necessarily think or plan ahead of what I will do with the materials, but rather I just create as I interact with each of the material.

As I work with the materials individually, I noticed how often I did not take the time to really inspect each item. I had seemed to overlook the sensory qualities each object had and had only focused on the affective and symbolic meaning the items had only until after the piece had been completed. I realized, with the right direction and structure, that using found objects could help Older Adults with Dissociative Disorders. While handling certain objects, I think bringing attention to and observing the sensory components of each object could help with grounding and bring dissociative tendencies to the forefront of the individual’s attention. For older adults, found objects could be personal mementos. Having objects that have both sentimental value and sensory characteristics while focusing on those qualities could really help in creating a space where attention to being present in the moment is encouraged.

“For patients who find it difficult to relate to other people objects can be a safer way of relating; acting as a bridge from one point in life to another; and helping people to become more engaged with their environment” (Camic et al., 2011). By using materials that focus on the immediate recognition of their surrounding environment, older adults who use found objects can also benefit in making cognizant connections between life events, addressing both the dissociative tendencies of their diagnosis but also in memory recall and cognitive stimulation that is needed when the course of aging becomes more present in the individual’s life. Found objects can serve many populations with different needs (Camic et al., 2011), however, it seems like the use of sentimental found objects can positively serve the older adult population when faced with Dissociative Disorders.


References:

Camic, P. M., Brooker, J., & Neal, A. (2011). Found objects in clinical practice: Preliminary

evidence. The Arts in Psychotherapy, 38(3), 151-159.


bottom of page