top of page

Knitting for Adolescents with Depression

My mom and grandma taught me to knit when I was a child. I never made anything more complicated than a basic scarf, or even completed a scarf for that matter. However, this week I was motivated because my boyfriend asked for a hat. I initially said no because I didn’t think I had the skill. It was extremely rewarding, empowering, and confidence building to complete a project that I didn’t believe I had the ability to do. It was also so fulfilling to create something that was useful and nourishing for someone I love. He was so thankful and proud of it, telling all his friends I made it for him. Additionally, I needed help from my mom to remember certain stitches and patterns, which meant quality time with her. I enjoyed enhancing a skill that was passed down to me from the women in my family.

I found this processes soothing on a kinesthetic level. It was almost trance like as I settled into a repetitive rhythm. It was rich sensory experience as well: the click of the needles, the soft, thick yarn around my fingers. It provided immediate gratification as I watched my progress, but also required commitment and perseverance to finish the project. It was a cogitative process as well, as I was focused on keeping count of stitches and rows and following the pattern. At the same time, it became automatic and my mind could wander.

Because of these qualities, learning to knit could be helpful for adolescents with depressive disorders. Depressive disorders are often characterized by a sense of worthless, guilt, hopelessness, and helplessness. Learning a skill that can provide tangible and useful products for oneself or loved ones can combat that sense. Creating knitted products can boost confidence and self esteem. It gives a sense of agency and requires focus and commitment. It is an art form that is fairly relaxing, soothing, and sensory, which is important for teenagers feeling fatigued and numbed.

Adolescents are navigating their identities and how they fit into the world. Learning a craft provides a sense of agency, a source of pride, and may be a way for teens to connect to the world. It provides opportunity to create wearable knitted pieces for self-expression, to gift knitted objects to friends or family. Teens can build relationships by knitting with peers or learning from family members. Riley, Corkill, and Morris (2013) discussed how healing knitting can be—reducing stress, providing space for contemplation, opportunity for provision, and how bimanual, repetitive motion helped brain interconnectivity. It also discussed the social aspect of knitting together and learning from other members.


Reference:


Riley, J., Corkhill, B., & Morris, C. (2013). The benefits of knitting for personal and social wellbeing in adulthood: Findings from an international survey. British Journal of Occupational Therapy, 76(2), 50-57.



bottom of page