top of page

Knitting: Older Adults w/ Neurocognitive Disorders


Media: Knitting/Crochet

Population: Older Adults

Disorder: Neurocognitive Disorders

Reflection:

This week, I engaged in finger knitting with various colors and textures. Once my knitted ropes were made, I used them to create a cozy nest. I chose to use knitting and crocheting with older adults with Neurocognitive Disorders because of the success I have had with this media, population, and diagnosis in the past. As a Certified Dementia Practitioner, I found success in facilitating knitting/crochet groups with older adults with dementia who had previous experience with the medium. While dementia impacts someone's memory and attention, knitting, and crochet stimulate areas of the brain that encourage concentration and memory.

Our text states that crochet can be used as a method of self-care and that is exactly what this process felt like for me. Riley, Corkhill, & Morris (2013) also found people who “knitted in a group were more likely to feel ‘calmer’, ‘happier’, ‘excited’, ‘useful’ and ‘better’ about themselves than those who did not” (p. 5). Because I engaged in this experience alone, I am left wondering what the experience would have been if I was with my classmates. Based on my experience, knitting and crocheting in a group setting for older adults is a chance to not only engage in creativity that is meaningful but also to experience connection with others. When one person forgets how to start the crochet/knitting process, there is often another client who can get it started for them. I have also witnessed individuals have moments of cognitive clarity while they knit.

I chose this population and medium because I have witnessed its success in the past. However, I feel like I learned something new during myself through my own creative engagement that I forgot. I relearned that I can utilize the therapeutic process of art-making to give myself exactly what I need. I felt a lot of strong emotions this week. Through the creation of a nest, I was able to create a space where my clients and I could experience safety and personal growth.


References

Leone, L. (Ed.). (2020). Craft in Art Therapy: Diverse Approaches to the Transformative

Power of Craft Materials and Methods. Routledge.

Riley, J., Corkhill, B., & Morris, C. (2013). The benefits of knitting for personal and social wellbeing in adulthood: Findings from an international survey. British Journal of Occupational Therapy, 76(2), 50-57.

bottom of page