top of page

Narrative Sewing: Adults w/ PTSD/Trauma


Media: Sewing

Population: Adult

Disorder: Trauma

Reflection:

This week, I engaged in sewing as a form of personal storytelling. I think that this process could be useful for adults with a history of trauma. I came to this conclusion based on my own experience and the assigned readings.

Our text states that hand-sewing involves rhythmic and repetitive motions that result in bilateral stimulation in the brain that regulates hyperarousal (Leone, 2020, p. 102). This regulation of hyperarousal could benefit adults who are processing triggering experiences through sewing. Because the sewing is nonverbal, clients have the opportunity to respond to traumatic experiences in a way that does not force them to verbalize what they have been through. This could be a chance for them to have agency and power over their own narrative in a way that may not be feasible through verbal processing alone. Garlock (2016) wrote that working for textiles can offer comfort and meaning to clients, especially if sewing is part of their culture. The author goes on to explain that “story cloths create lasting pictures filled with memories, connections to loved ones, and important events, and maybe an integrative and effective way to work with trauma survivors” (p. 66).

This sewing experience with difficult for me, as someone with a trauma history. In full disclosure, I had to remove a lot of information from this response that I did not want on the internet. This process was a reminder of the importance of supportive relationships in the processing of trauma. I am currently working on gathering supplies to make a story quilt at my clinical placement. I am working with trans individuals in recovery. I can confidently say that every one of my clients has a trauma history. Expressing personal narratives through sewing could be an effective way for clients to gain agency over their stories.


References

Leone, L. (Ed.). (2020). Craft in Art Therapy: Diverse Approaches to the Transformative

Power of Craft Materials and Methods. Routledge.

Garlock, L. (2016) Stories in the Cloth: Art Therapy and Narrative

Textiles, Art Therapy, 33:2, 58-66, DOI: 10.1080/07421656.2016.1164004

bottom of page