top of page

The Boring Act of Knitting: Older adults with depression

I began with a ball of very soft, thick yarn and knitting needles all of which I acquired from my mom’s closet (making this very affordable). I used to knit years ago, so relearning was not frustrating or difficult for me, however I can understand how this might be very difficult to learn for someone just starting out, causing some frustration. I knitted a baby blanket for my baby using one stitch because it is the only stitch I know. It took me a few days being that it was something I did when I found myself with little to do, like watching something or while on zoom. I have always enjoyed knitting for reason being that it feels like you are being productive while simultaneously doing nothing. For me, a lot of it is about keeping my hands busy and is a great way to fill inactive time. I think my screen time was down dramatically the week I knitted and I remember feeling very calm.

The population I chose are older adults with depressive disorders. I chose this population for many reasons. For starters, there is a ton of potential for community engagement and social connection, two things that might help with the depression. With community engagement, I am thinking about ways for engaging older adults so that they have a sense of purpose but also using a material that they might be more familiar with. Community engagement would allow depressed older adults to explore ways to engage with their communities while not actually being present in their community and perhaps help minimize feelings of helplessness, hopelessness and sadness. There are a lot of virtual knitting groups happening all over the world, particularly during covid-19. Social connection could also be explored by what is being made-the content. Who is the making for? Are they making things for family or friends or strangers in need? Whatever they decide, increasing one’s sense of worthiness and contribution to society or those they love is fulfilling. It also allows them to give something that is a part of themselves, creating some personal meaning and buy in as well. Older adults tend to have more time on their hands, so I am also thinking that the accessibility and portability also makes this a good fit. In addition, once the rhythmic nature of knitting is established it can be a very soothing experience, almost meditative making it a kinesthetic and sensory experience.

In the article “The benefits of knitting for personal and social wellbeing” many examples were given pertaining to the many cultures that use yarn, bringing to light how using yarn is actually a universal medium, making it culturally relevant for many people. If for instance, this knitting group took place in an assisted living home or managed care facility, many people from various cultures and socioeconomic status would have experience with the material if not the knitting process, making for a diverse group of individuals and one that is accessible to many.



Riley, J., Corkhill, B., & Morris, C. (2013). The benefits of knitting for personal and social wellbeing in adulthood: findings from an international survey. British Journal of Occupational Therapy, 76(2), 50-57. DOI: 10.4276/030802213X13603244419077


bottom of page