top of page

Zines+ substance-related and addictive disorders+ Adults

Learning to create a zine with computer paper via Zoom was tremendous, and I am forever grateful for you wonderful people in assisting when I couldn’t understand folding the paper hotdog or hamburger style. With the topic of Exhaustion (thank you, Meg!), I think it was a theme that was very much prevalent in the air. I opted for a digital rendition instead of working with physical materials due to accessibility and desire to experiment with procreate. I allowed myself to be “crass” and free with my choice of words, as I never reprimand patients/clients for cursing or anything. At my previous practicum site, the adolescents or adults would lose points if they would drop an F-bomb, and I found it unreasonable, especially when they weren’t using it directly at someone but instead as a form of expression. When I created my zine page, I felt I had to add it to really emphasize my thoughts and emotions. Something very therapeutic about letting out a good F-bomb and combining it with art- well, it made me feel better!

Ideally, an art studio would have digital media accessible for clients to use. Still, if not, I would offer polaroid instant film cameras, different types of paper, scissors, ink, writing materials for the group to use. I believe working with adults with substance-related and addictive disorders in a group setting would be ideal in creating zines. Zines can help address cognitive, emotional, physical, social, family, and peer dynamics that have been impacted by substance use and addiction. Since rehabilitation is empowered by working together in a group-based therapy, working on zines empowers identity development and allows for self-expression and voices to be heard. A collective theme can be decided within the group, as we did, and group members could document their perspectives “illustrating a person’s goals, values while acknowledging struggles and steps” (Mageary, 2020, p. 183) to recovery. By creating their zines, they will be able to reclaim narratives from their perspectives. It promotes empowerment, knowing that a tangible, everlasting item like a book/magazine was created from scratch. Group members could choose to replicate their zines or combine their artwork together to further unite as a whole in the journey to recovery. There is no one way, and I think it is important for clients to understand that treatment is multifaceted. Support through the arts can be healing and provide new coping strategies when working towards self-recovery.

Reference:

Mageary, J. (2020). Zines, the DIY Ethic, and Empowering Marginalized Identities. In L. Leone. Craft in art therapy: Diverse approaches to the transformative power of craft materials and methods. (pp. 177-189). New York, New York, Routledge.

bottom of page