top of page

#5 El Duende with Older Adults and Bipolar Disorder

Reflective Writing #5: Mini El Duende

Population: Older Adults

Disorder: Bipolar II Disorder


When creating my Mini El Duende I used a swatch of fabric as my inspiration for what color I should use for each layer. I used oil paints which meant the layers did not have enough time to dry before putting the next one on top and the colors mixed. I had mixed feelings about this process. I noticed that I kind of rushed through the lower/first layers feeling as though they “didn’t matter” as much because they were going to be covered up. Since I completed this mini el duende in the span of several hours I did not feel connected to it as a process of transformation.

The population that I chose for this project is older adults with Bipolar II disorder. However, I believe it would be more powerful with a full time-line el duende. Chilton et al. states “after using EDPP in supervision, transformational changes were reported, as EDPP was found to help students open up to risk taking, self-disclosure and self-reflexivity” (2020, p. 2). Although this is discussing with student’s, I believe a similar process could occur with clients. The nature of Bipolar II disorder is that an individuals has to experience both manic/hypomanic and depressive symptoms. The el duende process would give clients a safe space to explore what that journey looks like over time through the art in a piece that is ever evolving, much like the disorder.

Robb and Miller state “EDPP research and observation indicate horizontal and vertical disclosures (Yalom & Leszcz, 2005) occur during the paint layering process of reworking on one canvas, with concurrent professional growth related to experiential learning about vulnerability and disclosure” (2017, p. 193). The el duende process of reworking on one platform is a powerful metaphor for the many things that clients experience in life and the experiences that build on top of each other. Taking pictures of each stage in the process and being able to look back is would be a valuable experience.


References:


Robb, M., & Miller, A. (2017). Supervisee art-based disclosure in El Duende process painting. Art Therapy, 34(4), 192-200.

Chilton, G., Lynskey, K., Ohnstad, E., & Manders, E. (2020). A Case of El Duende: Art-Based Supervision in Addiction Treatment. Art Therapy, 1-9.














bottom of page