top of page

#7 Zines and Adolescents with NSSID

Reflective Writing #7: Zines

Population: Adolescents

Disorder: Nonsuicidal Self-injury Disorder (NSSID)


I created a zine using paper, cut out collage material, glue sticks and marker. I enjoyed the process of being able to create by piecing pre-created materials together to create a new message. I chose to work with adolescents struggling with NSSID because it is a safe activity for them, it empowers them to speak using their own voice, and it builds community to build a book at the end. Joe Mageary states that zines are a means of “artistic expression that intentionally prioritize accessibility over technique, training, or skill and that are highly adaptable to the person, topic, available materials and setting” (Leone, 2020, p. 182). The unique aspect of this prompt is that I was able to do this intervention with an adolescent group at my internship with this population. I did not have to adapt this media much to meet the diversity of my clients population because of how versatile it already is.

I photocopied the zines (for people who wanted to) and put them together with a staple-less stapler and gave a book to each member after group. Houpt et al. mention that “zines have a long history as a social action tool, with a focus on promoting autonomy, independence, and critical relationship with mainstream culture” (2016, p. 130). I noticed this specifically in one client who brought in the pressure of weight in society and added in pictures of plus size models. In the group of adolescents, I worked with it was interesting to see the shift that males in the room quickly finished their piece and were easily distracted and the females spent longer on their zines and seemed to put more thought into it. Through this process I am learning to meet clients where they are at. I was really excited about this project and in my head, I had the expectation that all of the adolescents would jump on board and put really meaningful social messages on their zines. Some were into it, however some put simple messages, and some got distracted from the task and just started listing rappers that they like. So, it is important for me to realize my expectations and where the group is coming from to find that balance.


References:

Houpt, K., Balkin, L. “, Broom, R. H., Roth, A. G., & Selma, . (2016). Anti-Memoir: Creating Alternate Nursing Home Narratives Through Zine Making. Art Therapy, 33(3), 128-137. doi:10.1080/07421656.2016.1199243

Leone, L. (Ed.). (2020). Craft in Art Therapy: Diverse Approaches to the Transformative

Power of Craft Materials and Methods. Routledge.




bottom of page