top of page

Clay + Disruptive, Impulsive-Control-Conduct Disorders + Children

Clay is a wonderful material with various therapeutic features that can be manipulated in so many ways; thus, making it a popular tool to use in art therapy. Clay is a transformative tool, both in its texture and plasticity, and how it can be manipulated to look in its final state. Depending on which direction the therapist and client choose to take, it can become a functional tool used for everyday use, a sculptural piece with significant meaning, and so much more. For the week’s experiential, I could not create clay myself due to limited cooking supplies but did order DAS terracotta clay. Using this type of clay reminded me of the importance of experimenting with materials before bringing them into sessions with clients to understand what it can bring up. Upon opening the clay package, I was hit with a strong smell that was very overwhelming. I immediately wanted to stop, but since I had no other options, I continued. The clay was wet, messy, stuck to my palms, and stained my hands red. When I washed them, it was very reminiscent of blood, which was very visceral. Sarah made a great point, and I would like to point out that my reaction does not necessarily mean others will have the same or same associations with it. The sensory overload was overpowering and distracted my efforts to connect with the clay for a therapeutic approach. Acknowledging that response, though, I wondered how I would modify the clay to change my response. A thought that came to mind was adding powdered sugar or pieces of potpourri, changing the texture and smell to clay, thus changing the experience altogether.

When using clay, the population I was thinking about would be children and disruptive, impulsive-control, and conduct disorders. Using Narrative/Play Art Therapy would be beneficial for this population and would be a great way for children to channel their emotions using a play component. Clay is effective in which “the sensory nature and plastic texture of clay help create positive psychophysiological effects, such as raising body awareness, creating a mindful state for the artist, and enhancing positive affective experience” (Nan, p.56, 2020). Children could create clay models of animals they most identify with peers and family members and provide information on their relationships. The play component and storytelling allows for natural, rapport building with the art therapist without feeling so exposed and having to self-identify as the animal right away. I would not use the clay that I used to work with children, and instead, use model magic. We would use paint or markers to customize our animals further, which could be viable information to know for treatment. The directive could also go by creating different settings in which the animals live. How would two different types of animals interact with one another under challenging environments? Would they be able to share space? Are they always fighting? Since clay can be continuously worked on until it is left to dry, the child can manipulate to evolve and transform it into different animals or creatures.



References

Leone, L. (2020). Craft in art therapy: Diverse approaches to the transformative power of craft materials and methods. New York, New York, Routledge.

bottom of page