top of page

Clay with Children Anxiety Disorders

For this process I was greatly inspired by the reading Being in Touch: Healing Developmental and Attachment Trauma at the Clay Field. But rather than focus on trauma, I wanted to think about the kinds of benefits that clay holds in broader terms as an intervention for more generalized anxiety in children. According to the article, “Intense anxiety can diminish the exteroceptors to the extent that the here-and-now reality of the outside world becomes seriously distorted and the inner sensations begin to define reality.” (Elbrect & Antcliff, 2015, p. 212) Children with high levels of anxiety may experience a suppression of external stimuli needed to navigate an external world with confidence and a sense of safety. As children begin to define their reality through distorted inner sensations, the outside world becomes increasingly fraught. Haptic perception involves a sense of touch and can be brought into further awareness through exploration with the hands and fingers. Clay provides a supportive, smooth and soft surface. Burying the hands in clay can mimic the experience of being held in a safe embrace, such as a warm hug (Elbrect & Antcliff, 2015). The experience of soothing touch, and nurturing embrace, is a developmental necessity in order to feel safe, loved and cared for. The soft, warm clay mimics this kind of touch and regulates the nervous system, providing a holding space that calms anxious children.


My experience with the clay was somewhat different. I didn’t have “real” clay, nor the materials or resources to make or buy some. I did have a leftover packet of Model Magic. I found some soothing sensory stimulation in the Model Magic as I rolled the material in my hands and broke it apart to create smaller shapes. I also put the Model Magic under some warm water and enjoyed the slippery feel of the wet clay. I tried to mimic the “holding space” of packing my hands into the clay, but did not have enough to do this thoroughly. However, I wrapped some of my fingers tightly with the Model Magic and enjoyed the pressure and the sense of containment. I did find it somewhat disorienting that in doing the Model Magic dulled the sensation in my fingers, almost as if I was wearing gloves. Even though I was not experiencing the nurturing embrace of the clay, I still found that just manipulating the material and focusing on the sensation of touch relaxing and soothing.



References

Elbrecht C., & Antcliff L. (2015). Being in touch: Healing developmental and attachment trauma at the clay field. Children Australia, 40(3), 209-220.




bottom of page