top of page

Crochet/Knitting for Older Adults with Substance-Related and Addictive Disorders

Media Process: Crochet/Knitting

Population: Older Adults

Disorder: Substance-Related and Addictive disorders


For this process I first elected to engage in a crocheting experience. Crochet is something that I already hold some familiarity with, so I began this process by adding to a blanket that I started awhile ago. I found myself immediately sinking in to a repetitive and rhythmic sense of calm while adding each stitch. I also experienced a space for reflection, as I began to remember the time period of when I began the blanket, as well as feeling a sense of nostalgia as I reflected on learning how to crochet from my sister. I wanted to experience something that I was less familiar with, so I decided to try my hand at finger-knitting. I was surprised by the simplicity of the process, and I was also struck by how kinesthetic the experience was. I usually associate crochet/knitting to sit on the sensory side of the ETC, but as I wrapped the yarn around my fingers and felt the tension as I pulled each loop, I identified it as being a strong kinesthetic process.


In both processes that I experimented with, though, the art-making stayed on that bottom level of the ETC. For this reason, when thinking about my population, I was drawn to consider how knitting and crochet can be utilized when working with older adults with substance-use disorders. I began to reflect on the neurocognitive changes in the brain that arise because of addiction, and how introducing new self-soothing techniques can serve as a coping strategy to replace past behaviors (Maté, 2010). Engaging with crochet and knitting seems to align well with this process of self-soothing and stress reduction, as I am referencing back to my own experience of the media being repetitive and rhythmic. This is also substantiated by Riley, Corkhill, and Morris (2013), who identify a similar nature of the process of knitting, and how it leads to a sense of calm and relaxation.


I also recalled how environment and socialization are significant influences on recovery (Maté, 2010). While I was doing my art responses, I was creating these alone, but I have experienced crochet/knitting in groups and among people in my past and am always struck by the sense of community that exists in these experiences. I also recalled in the article by Riley, Corkhill, and Morris (2013) that individuals shared a felt sense of belonging and connection to others when knitting in a group. I thought it would be interesting to explore the use of knitting/crochet with this population not only because it responds well to the effects of substance-use disorders, but also because of the component of social isolation and loneliness that is felt among older adults(Valtorta & Hanratty, 2012). Taking that information along with what Maté (2010) shares about positive social connection, the implementation of knitting/crochet groups for older adults who experience substance-use disorders seems to be a potentially powerful intervention.







Maté, G. & Levine, P. A. (2010). In the realm of hungry ghosts: Close encounters with addiction. Berkeley: North Atlantic Books.

Riley, J., Corkhill, B., & Morris, C. (2013). The Benefits of Knitting for Personal and Social Wellbeing in Adulthood: Findings from an International Survey. British Journal of Occupational Therapy, 76(2), 50–57.https://doi.org/10.4276/030802213X13603244419077

Valtorta, N., & Hanratty, B. (2012). Loneliness, isolation and the health of older adults: Do we need a new research agenda? Journal of the Royal Society of Medicine, 105(12), 518-522. doi:10.1258/jrsm.2012.120128

bottom of page