top of page

Knitting/Crochet + neurocognitive disorder+ older adults

I was pretty excited that we were going to engage in Knitting/Crochet since I automatically associate it with our cohort and how it brought us together during our new journey into graduate school. Community building is one of the strengths I admire about using these fiber arts and how it naturally unites others, whether through admiration of a creation or interest to learn a new skill. I had always stayed away from knitting or crochet when I was younger, stating it as “too hard” and giving up before even trying. Seeing my classmates learning, excelling, and creating awesome and functional items encouraged me to get curious enough to try once more. For a year, I would become obsessed with crocheting and not get it right until this class, in which my “ambitious” self-decided to learn how to knit instead since many of the older adults at my internship site enjoyed knitting. I can still remember a classmate’s gentle reminder about learning online vs. in-person and how it may be difficult for some. That was most certainty applicable in my case, and I still struggle with my knitting if I am not with someone.

That brings me to why I chose to work with older adults with neurocognitive disorders using knitting and/or crochet as I had the first-hand experience at my internship site. I have enjoyed working with wonderful people diagnosed with Dementia, TBI, and other neurocognitive disorders. Art therapy and the other creative arts therapies have been a beneficial addition to their treatment. Upon just one person knitting or crocheting in a group, nostalgia, gift-giving, and social engagement are themes that arise. Gjernes (2017), explains how “material anchors”, such as knitting, can help regulate or improve memory or problem-solving. The social support from other group members builds relations with one another. If a person has had experience with these fiber arts, it is a technique that is “automatic and requires a limited degree of explicit cognition or consciousness” ( Gjernes, 2017, p. 2235). The repetitive motion and sensory-motor stimulation benefits of knitting or crochet are therapeutic, calming, can help activate self-identities that can promote a sense of purpose and increase attendance within groups. For example, I asked a lovely patient one day if she would help me with my knitting. She self-identified as the skilled knitter, which I noticed had her attending more groups and participating in group discussions much more. Knitting helped her participation and memory recall through artmaking. My takeaway as an art therapy student is that while, yes, knowledge of using a material is great, mastery in it does not necessarily equate to a successful group. The smile and engagement I had with that one patient filled my heart for weeks, knowing she found joy and connection through needles and yarn.


Reference:

Gjernes, T. (2017). Knitters in a Day Center: The Significance of Social Participation for People With Mild to Moderate Dementia. Qualitative Health Research, 27(14), 2233–2243. https://doi.org/10.1177/1049732317723890

bottom of page