top of page

Papermaking + Trauma & Stressor Related Disorders+ Adults

The first experiential of the quarter and I was excited to make paper with items found in my home. I had taken a papermaking course during my undergrad studies, but that was over eight years ago. I told myself I would embark on this task without buying additional materials that would have definitely made my experience easier. Accessibility is a huge factor I always pay mind to, and I believe in all of us, as creative arts therapists, that we can make art out of anything! So, I picked out leftover scrap papers, many past art projects, hospital discharge forms, and leftover mistakes created from my printer. Using pre-made paper to make new paper was somewhat comical for me. Still, I found myself falling into a rhythmic, soothing, reparative motion of tearing each page, at times releasing pent up energy I did not know I was withholding inside. Soaking the paper in water, interchanging the new pulp between my tiny bottle blender and bowl of dry material reminded me how kinesthetic and sensory focused papermaking is. While I found the experience soothing, I thought of how using gloves as a “protective barrier” or even changing the water temperature to warm may further assist someone that would be bothered by this experiential.

With that in mind, I thought of using this approach with adults with trauma and stressor-related disorders, as the process has many steps and “builds up” on stressors done to the material to transform into something new. Experiencing/exposure to a traumatic or stressful event takes a toll on the body and mind. Papermaking can be used as a metaphor to process that information and reconstruct it so that it does not further harm a person but can visually represent their resiliency through transformation. Papermaking is versatile in which one can create sculptures, pulp paintings, decorative or practical use. Not only are clients able to see their creation evolve from a deconstructed stage to a durable, strong one, papermaking can help build autonomy, help build tolerance for when things don’t run smoothly (literally and figuratively), and decrease tension. Hinz (2020) notes that talking about the physical feelings associated with the directive -kinesthetic-opens up later processing of emotions evoked by the experience-affective (Expressive Therapies Continuum). It is essential to work within a trauma-informed/based approach to facilitate a group or individual session with this population to prioritize safety above everything.

References:

Hinz, L. D. (2020). Expressive therapies continuum: A framework for using art in therapy (2nd ed.). New York, New York, Routledge.

bottom of page